macon county nc north carolina courthouse government
 
planning department macon county nc

CONTACT:

Department of Planning, Permitting
& Development

Human Services Building
1834 Lakeside Dr.
Franklin, NC 28734
(828) 349-2073

Office Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm


Monthly Meetings

On November 21st the Planning Board voted to move their regular meeting time to the 2nd Thursday of the month 5pm.

All meetings are held at the Environmental Resource Center, located at 1624 Lakeside Drive.

Meetings begin at 5:00 pm. All members of the public are invited to attend.

2019 Comprehensive Plan
Final as approved

 

Macon County • Planning Board Info & Meeting Minutes

Planning Section

Planning Board

Planning Board Mission Statement

To develop and advocate public policy and procedure to preserve the integrity of our mountain heritage, the beauty and tranquility of our communities, as well as our natural environment for the benefit of current populations as well as future generations while sustaining economic vitality and the social welfare of our citizens.

The Macon County Planning Board shall be governed by the North Carolina General Statutes having been established under Chapter 153A, Section 321 of said statues, and other general and specific state laws relating to planning in Macon County, as well by the Macon County Ordinance through which this Board was created, signed by the Macon County Board of Commissioners on March 27, 1972 and amended on January 5, 2004.

Monthly Meetings:

To request minutes from Planning Board Meetings, email Jack Morgan, County Planner. jmorgan@maconnc.org

General Powers and Duties:

  • Make studies of the County and surrounding areas.
  • Determine objectives to be sought in the development of the study area.
  • Prepare and adopt plans for achieving these objectives.
  • Develop and recommend policies, ordinances, administrative procedures, and other means for carrying out plans in a coordinated and efficient manner.
  • Advise the Board of Commissioners concerning the use and amendment of means for carrying out plans.
  • Exercise any functions in the administration and enforcement of various means for carrying out plans that the Board of Commissioners may direct.
  • Perform any other related duties that the Board of Commissioners may direct.

Macon County Planning Board Members 2020

Justin Setser - Chairman
Town of Franklin

95 E Main Street,Franklin NC 28734
O: 828-524-2516
justinsetser@franklinnc.com

Michael Mathis
Town of Highlands

P.O.Box 460, Highlands, NC 28741
O: 828-526-2118 x 1103
michael.mathis@highlandsnc.org

Joe Deal
3261 River Road Franklin NC 28734
M: 828-421-2886
joe@dealfarms.com
Term Expires: 12/13/2019
Aaron Garrett - Vice Chairman
390 Hurst Circle, Franklin NC 28734
M: 828 421-4919
aaron@garrettlandsurveeying.com
Terms Expires: 12/13/2019

Karl Gillespie - Commission Liaison
100 Porter St. Franklin NC 28734
O: 828 - 524-4624
M: 828 - 371-2220
karl@nationalcommunications.com

Ben Ledford
4675 Clarks Chapel Rd. Franklin NC 28734
O: 828-421-7331, 828-349-0836, 706-746-2822
ben@blalockmeat.com
Terms Expires: 3/10/2023

Kathy Tinsley
15 Valley Ln. Franklin NC 28734
O: (828) 349-0871
M: (828) 421-6052
ktinsley@martinandslagle.com
2nd Term Expires: 11/22/2022
Betty Waldroop
12660 Murphy Hwy., Franklin, NC 238734
H/O: (828)524-8116
M: (828)421-1158
ewaldroop@gmail.com
Term Expires: 11/12/2022
Dr. Mickey Henson
54 Lavona Joy Circle, Franklin , NC 28734
(828) 506 - 6325
mickey.b.henson@gmail.com
Term Expires: 09/10/2022
Joe Allen - Assistant Planner
1834 Lakeside Drive Franklin, NC 28734
O: (828) 349-2560
jallen@maconnc.org


Carroll Poindexter
120 Ivy Rd Franklin NC 28734
(828) 524-6751
(828) 342-7108
poinent@yahoo.com
1st Term Expires: 2/13/2021


Glenn Hedden
308 Brendle Rd Franklin NC 28734
(828) 524-6032
(828) 488-8854
(828) 371-2147
g.hedden@gmail.com
1st Term Expires: 2/13/2021
Mark Berry
P.O. Box 1533, Franklin NC 28744
(828) 371-2202
markberry1987@gmail.com
1st Term Expires: 10/08/2022


Jean Owen
196 Woodcastle Ln. Franklin NC 28734
(828) 349-4600
(828) 371-3258
jeanowen25@gmail.com
1st Term Expires: 10/08/2022

Jack Morgan - County Planner
1834 Lakeside Dr., Franklin, NC 28734
O: (828) 349-2170
jmorgan@maconnc.org


Tina Wiggins- Assistant to the Clerk
1834 Lakeside Dr., Franklin, NC 28734
O:(828)349-2073
twiggins@maconnc.org

     
       Mobile Menus   Mobile Menu

© 2010 Macon County, North Carolina
5 West Main Street • Franklin, NC 28734
Phone: 828-349-2000

web design tony angel media