## MACON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS CALLED MEETING - 8 P.M. DECEMBER 1, 2011 MINUTES

Vice-Chairman Kuppers convened the called meeting at 8:00 p.m. in the Commissioners' Boardroom on the third floor of the courthouse as noticed. All Board Members (with the exception of Chairman McClellan), the County Manager, Deputy Clerk, County Attorney and members of the news media were present.

Vice-Chairman Kuppers announced that the purpose of the meeting was to accept the resignation of Brian McClellan as the District I representative on the board of commissioners, and to contact and consult with the executive committee of the Macon County Republican Party with regard to filling the vacancy created by the resignation.

Vice-Chairman Kuppers then recognized the County Attorney, who outlined the process for filling the vacancy based on N.C. General Statute 153A-27.1, which gives the executive committee 30 days to bring a recommendation to the county commissioners. The County Attorney noted that the board needed to officially accept the resignation, which Vice-Chairman Kuppers read into the record (Attachment 1), noting that the effective date of December 1 was in fact December 1, 2011. Commissioner Beale made a motion to accept the resignation, adding that it was "with sadness," and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Haven. Following individual comments from each commissioner, the board voted unanimously to accept the resignation.

Vice-Chairman Kuppers then asked Commissioner Corbin to introduce Chris Murray, the chairman of the Macon County Republican Party. Mr. Murray noted that the executive committee was scheduled to meet on December 5 to choose a replacement for McClellan. Vice-Chairman Kuppers presented Mr. Murray with a letter from the board (Attachment 2).

Commissioner Corbin also announced that the Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives, Rep. Thom Tillis, would visit Franklin on December 8 at 1:30 p.m. at the Macon campus of Southwestern Community College and he invited the board members and County Manager to attend.

Upon a motion by Commissioner	Beale, seconded by Commissioner
Haven, the board voted unanimously to adjourn at 8:13 p.m.	
Jack Horton, County Manager	Bob Kuppers
, ,	± ±
Clerk to the Board	Board Vice-Chairman