macon county nc north carolina courthouse government
planning department macon county nc


Department of Planning, Permitting
& Development

Human Services Building
1834 Lakeside Dr.
Franklin, NC 28734
(828) 349-2073

Office Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Monthly Meetings

The Macon County Planning Board holds their regularly scheduled monthly meetings on the third Thursday of each month.

All meetings are held at the Environmental Resource Center, located at 1624 Lakeside Drive.

Meetings begin at 5:00 pm. All members of the public are invited to attend.

Comprehensive Plan
Final as approved


Macon County • Department of Planning, Permitting & Development

Planning Section

The November meeting for the Macon County Planning Board has been canceled.
The December Meeting will be held December 8, 2016.

Planning Board

Planning Board Mission Statement

To develop and advocate public policy and procedure to preserve the integrity of our mountain heritage, the beauty and tranquility of our communities, as well as our natural environment for the benefit of current populations as well as future generations while sustaining economic vitality and the social welfare of our citizens.

The Macon County Planning Board shall be governed by the North Carolina General Statutes having been established under Chapter 153A, Section 321 of said statues, and other general and specific state laws relating to planning in Macon County, as well by the Macon County Ordinance through which this Board was created, signed by the Macon County Board of Commissioners on March 27, 1972 and amended on January 5, 2004.

Monthly Meetings:

To request minutes from Planning Board Meetings, email Jack Morgan, County Planner.

General Powers and Duties:

  • Make studies of the County and surrounding areas.
  • Determine objectives to be sought in the development of the study area.
  • Prepare and adopt plans for achieving these objectives.
  • Develop and recommend policies, ordinances, administrative procedures, and other means for carrying out plans in a coordinated and efficient manner.
  • Advise the Board of Commissioners concerning the use and amendment of means for carrying out plans.
  • Exercise any functions in the administration and enforcement of various means for carrying out plans that the Board of Commissioners may direct.
  • Perform any other related duties that the Board of Commissioners may direct.

Macon County Planning Board Members 2017

Joe Deal - Chairman
3261 River Road Franklin NC 28734
M: 828-421-2886
Term Expires: 12/13/2019
Kathy Tinsley - Vice Chairman
151 Valley Ln. Franklin NC 28734
H/O: 828.349.0871
M: 828.421.6052
Terms Expires: 5/2018
Karl Gillespie - Commission Liaison
100 Porter St. Franklin NC 28734
O: 828 - 524-4624
M: 828 - 371-2220
Term Expires: 06/2017
Betty Waldroop
12660 Murphy Hwy., Franklin, NC 238734
H/O: (828)524-8116
M: (828)421-1158
Term Expires: 2/9/2019
Evan Harrell
118 Goodwitch Lane, Otto, NC 28763
O: (828) 349 - 4600
M: (828) 371 - 5103
Term Expires: 2/09/2019
Chris D. Hanners
P.O. Box 371 Franklin NC 28734
M: 828 - 371-0793
Term Expires: 2/2018
Ben Laseter
557 E. Main St. Franklin NC 28734
O: 828-524-2711
Terms Expires: 12/10/2016
Aaron Garrett
390 Hurst Circle, Franklin NC 28734
M: 828 421-4919
Terms Expires: 12/13/2019
Tommy Potts
197 Palmer Dr., Franklin, NC 28734
O: 828 524-2313
Term Expires: 05/30/2017
Bill Futral
P.O. Box 205, Scaly Mtn. NC 28775
M: 828.634.1010
Term Expires: 06/2017
Rick Trevathan
581 N. Big Bear Pen Mtn.Rd., Highlands, NC.
O: 828-526-2336
M: 713-962-7442
Term Expires: 2/09/2019
Justin Setser
Town of Franklin

95 E Main Street,Franklin NC 28734
O: 828-524-2516
Term Expires: 2/03/2018

Jack Morgan - County Planner
1834 Lakeside Dr., Franklin, NC 28734
O: (828) 349-2170

Tina Wiggins- Assistant to the Clerk
1834 Lakeside Dr., Franklin, NC 28734
       Mobile Menus   Mobile Menu

© 2010 Macon County, North Carolina
5 West Main Street • Franklin, NC 28734
Phone: 828-349-2000

web design tony angel media